Blincoe crew

Blincoe crew

L to R back row, Desmond Hayward, Kenneth Blincoe, Frank Boese, Harold Lowe, front row, Edward McDermott, Desmond Clearwater and George Cook

A while ago, I received this amazing colour picture from Kevin King. So far its the only colour image that I have seen related to 75(NZ) Squadron. The image and details of the crew and their crash comes from a Dutch site and the page can be seen here.

Having had a look at the ORB and the details of the raid, I am  inclined to believe that the information on this page is slightly wrong. On the night of the 3rd of February, the crew took Sgt. Andrew James Newell Scott with them to Hamburg, as second Pilot. To this end, I think that this picture is of the ‘Blincoe crew’ and is very unlikely to contain Sgt. Scott.

I appreciate my contention regarding the individuals in the picture is a little controversial, I look forward to being proved wrong, but my gut feeling says that I am not.

It was not a good night for the Squadron. As well as the Blincoe crew, P/O John McCullough and his crew, including Raymond Willaim Henderson as 2nd Pilot were also lost. The 2 captains were amongst the most experienced in the Squadron. and the loss of 2 2nd Pilots meant the following morning 2 ‘headless’ crews remained.

The crew on that night were;
Plt Off Kenneth Howard Blincoe, DFC, RNZAF NZ412194 Pilot. Age 33.
Citation DFC (24 Apr 1945 to date from 3 Feb 1943):
This officer is a most enthusiastic captain of aircraft and has completed many operational sorties, mostly against well defended targets. He has always been most determined in all his attacks and has set an example of the highest order to his crew“.

P/O Andrew James Newell Scott RNZAF NZ414685 2nd Pilot.

Sgt Frank Arthur Boese RAFVR 1293282 Observer. Age 22.

Sgt Desmond David Hayward RAFVR 651764 Flight Engineer. Age 20.

F/O Harold Lowe, DFC, RAFVR 905609/ 115129 Wireless Operator. Age 23.
Citation DFC (24 April 1945 to date from 2 Feb 1943):
This officer has participated in many operational sorties, the majority of which have been against strongly defended German targets. He has always shown great courage and determination in the face of the enemy and his work in the Squadron has been of the highest order and an example to all. Died Wednesday 3rd February 1943, age 23, during a raid on Hamburg“.

Sgt. George Wood Cook RNZAF NZ412514 Air Bomber. Age 24.

F/Sgt. Edward McDermott RCAF R.96960 Mid Upper Gunner. Age 19.

Sgt. Desmond Clearwater RNZAF NZ412314 Rear Gunner. Age 23.

The entire crew were buried in Amersfoort (Oud Leusden) General Cemetery, Netherlands.

8 thoughts on “Blincoe crew

  1. Trevor Scott

    In case anyone is interested Harold Lowe (back right in the photo) was married, albeit briefly, to my Aunt (Chrissie Scott). I am about to auction Harold’s DFC, together with his other medals and a few associated photos and related papers, at Toovey’s Auction House, Washington, West Sussex.

    Like

    Reply
  2. 75nzsquadron Post author

    Hi Trevor
    That is very interesting news, but a shame that you have to let these items go. I wonder, if it would be possible for you to send copies of the documents and maybe a picture of the medals for the website, before they pass out of your ownership?

    fingers crossed

    Simon

    Like

    Reply
    1. Trevor Scott

      SimonSorry for the delay in replying.The items are with the Auction House and have been taken by the military valuer for examination, so I don’t have access to them at the moment.However I will try to get some photos before they are auctioned (I meant to do so anyway for my own purposes). If successful I will let you have copies. I think the auction is in June so there’s still plenty of time. Trevor Scott. Date: Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:06:51 +0000 To: trevorscott46@hotmail.com

      Like

      Reply
  3. 75nzsquadron Post author

    Hi Trevor
    Many thanks for getting back to me – if you could take some pictures (or possibly scans), that would be fantastic.

    I look forward to seeing them

    once again, many thanks

    Simon

    Like

    Reply
    1. Andrea

      Hi I have only just seen this and that website is no longer working. Do you know what was on the site. Andrew is my uncle

      Like

      Reply
      1. alorimer2013

        Hi, I copied the details into a document at the time. It consisted of a photo and a local (New Zealand) newspaper obituary plus a photograph of the memorial in Matuaru also a brief bio of him and his parents and siblings (in Dutch). It was quite a nice memorial so I’m sorry that it has been removed. We must be distantly related, I came across his story when researching my family tree, my great grandfather, James Young Lorimer was his grandmother’s brother.

        Like

  4. Andrea

    yes Andrew was on that crew and is not shown in that photo. I have a lot of information regarding what happend that night if you are interested.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

